Ready to Sew

Last weekend was a very rainy weekend! The rain was much needed so I decided to go for a walk to the corner burger stand to pick up lunch for the family. I felt so excited splashing in happy little puddles. Wearing my super soft flying geese style cowl. All under my brightly colored striped over-sized umbrella.

in the rain

After a hearty lunch, I decided to get started on my next quilt. I will be making it out of one style block: flying geese. My fabric of choice: Love by Amy Butler. I LOVE this collection!!! I almost didn’t want to cut it up, but just hang it on the wall and adore it. But once the quilt is done, I can lay it on my bed and adore it!

ABFG2

Aren’t these fabrics just beautiful?!

DSC_0008

All of my squares cut and sewing lines marked. Ready to go! There are 60 – 7 1/4″ and 120 3 7/8″ squares! This will give me 240 flying geese! 240!!! I think my little squares are as excited as me. See how they are all lined up and ready to be sewn?

ready to sew

If all goes right, I will be entering this one into the county fair. Last year, I entered a quilt I made in the county fair. Here is that quilt! No prizes, but I am super happy that I was able to finish in time and thousands of people got to see my quilt!

garden of birds

I hand embroidered a little hummingbird drinking nectar. If you look closely, it is on the bottom right green block.

garden of birds2

Right now, it hangs on a quilt rack in my room. It turned out to be a bit bigger than my experience quilting, so it was quite a challenge to quilt it. Nevertheless, I am still so happy with the end product.

Now, back to my machine!

xxxooo

Leave a Reply

