Finish It February

This month I’m dedicating to completing a very large unfinished project.

Last February I started this flying geese quilt with Amy Butler Love collection. Have I mentioned how much I love Amy Butler? Her fabric collections are always so beautiful and fun!

Piecing this quilt took a long time since I made 244 individual flying geese! I also wanted to make sure that I didn’t have too many of the same color and fabric combination.

To make sure my seams lined up straight, I pieced the flying geese in columns of four then sewing two columns together. Then I worked my way into larger then larger sections.

Here is the top all pieced together. I am so excited to see how well it turned out.

It took a couple of months to piece the top. However, once I finished piecing it I couldn’t decide on how I wanted it quilted.  Did I want to hand quilt? Or machine? What kind of design do I want? Modern straight lines? Traditional feathers? Quilt it myself or send it to a long arm? The possibilities are endless. It was just way too hard to decide.

Enough is enough and it’s time to make a decision. After spending hours checking out Pintrest and Facebook quilting groups, I made a decision on how I will quilt it! Here is the design I am going to attempt to achieve.

Photo Credit

 

A quite traditional design for a modern looking quilt. We will see how it goes. Since it is a free motion quilting (FMQ) design I am going to have to practice the design first. I have not done much FMQ, a few minutes here and there but no real practice time. So not only will February be the month I finish a large quilt that I started a year ago, but I will be learning a new skill. FMQ has always fascinated me and I have always loved the beauty it creates. Thank goodness I have plenty of scrap fabric and batting to practice. I am going to need it.

Wish me luck.

Until next time, Kelly

Leave a Reply

